Letting Go

It feels like we are forcing this…
Like non-consecutive loose pieces of a puzzle that will never fit
It seems you’re stressing too hard to accommodate me
Your heart doesn’t seem to want what your mind sees right

My comfort annoys you…
My care puts you off…
Like a distasteful drug you force to gulp down your throat
Just because it is said to have the power of keeping you alive

It feels like you have to take constant breaks from me
To refuel the fake desire you have for me
You occasionally have to take the time off…
To mourn the desperate heart of yours that never settled on what truly satisfies it

It’s obvious you want to push me away
To put me off and force me to walk out of your life
Because you don’t have enough courage to order me out of it
Or better still, so my departure wouldn’t plague your conscience

DSC01768.JPG

 

So then, on this day
I have decided to set you free
To release you from your self-imposed bondage
To free your conscience
To let go of you…
And… To set myself free

 

De-Graft

24 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. So true. Sometimes you just know that your presence in someone’s life is almost like you’re forcing yourself to be there and that the person doesn’t really want you there but have to put up with you.
    It’s incredible 👌

    Like

Leave a comment