Lit To Glow

Inspired… 

Featured image by Betty…

.

She was flawed
A thousand listed imperfections she possessed
She was human, struggling to stay up
Broken hearted by her supposed inactions
But when I looked at her
She was only imperfectly perfect

She thought herself ugly
Scarred and marred by the past
Wrong steps, frail deeds, misguided actions
Disgusted by the consequences of her mistakes
But when I looked at her
I saw the most beautiful girl I’ve known

She was in the dark
Dark shadows cast on and in her
Shrouds and silhouettes of a dark past
Lurking and slithering in wait with fangs ready to bite
But when I looked in her eyes
I saw sparks of light as bright as Sirius

She was dead and cold
With neither the energy or power to go on
Arms thrown in despair, head hung down in shame
Surrendering all efforts to pick herself up again
But when I touched her innocent heart
It was beating and breathing… full of life!

Ignited… Lit to Glow

-De-Graft, 2018

IMG_20180718_231149_997IMG-20180718-WA0001Louisa 20171209_180002

8 thoughts on “Lit To Glow

  1. When I read this, it makes me think of the everyday person. Sometimes there are things that you’ve done and situations that you’ve through that u are sure has left thei mark so deep that u are sure the next person has seen it on you even though it isn’t so.
    Its very emotional on the fact that it makes u aware that really, you are not the only one with demomds. And that people don’t see u for ur imperfections or that ur imperfections don’t make up a complete u

    Like

    1. Exactly! I’m happy you see it that way too. There are so many things right with us. We shouldn’t let the faults and past mistakes make permanent dents on us. Thanks very much for your thoughts. 😊

      Like

    1. Kwame!!! 😃😃😃😃😃😃😃
      I’m so glad you liked them. And it’s such a great pleasure. We all struggle to keep the past behind us Bro.
      Your comments encourage me too. I’ll keep trying.

      Like

Leave a comment