Lit to glow – 2

There’s a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in. – Leonard Cohen

Inspired…

Twilight, night, dawn, day, dusk…
Dark, light, gloom, glow, ray
Beams of light shine through my window
What’s here? Let’s say… a new day

Hearts, pound, thump, throb
Minds, race, pace, stopped in place
Hands, quake, shake, hold on!
Anxious… anxiety trickles into my veins

I blink I blink… I think I think
Into my palms, my weary face sinks
Almost in tears… on the brink
Teeny weeny bits of dinky brine

Hope, hope, I pray you’re fine
I know I know… I know you’ll cope
I know you’re tough, I know you’re strong
You are alive, you will survive… hope… I grope

That’s so, you know you’re all you’ve got
A priceless pearl, purple daisy in a cot
Live, grow, hold on, don’t break
Go harder, go stronger, I believe in you!

And after your tears and sweat flow…
Don’t ever forget to wipe your brow…
Ignite! Lit to glow!

.
-De-Graft, 2018

8 thoughts on “Lit to glow – 2

Leave a comment